Basic Information of Bangladesh

Bangladesh is a low-lying country with a total area of 56,977 square miles or 147,570 square kilometers. It is mostly surrounded by Indian Territory except for small strip in the southeast by Myanmar and south by Bay of Bengal.
Most of its area is relatively flat lying. The only significant uplands are in the northeast and southeast of the country. Bangladesh has a tropical monsoon climate marked by sweltering temperatures and high humidity.
The Union Council is the lowest administrative unit. Each Union comprises about 20,000 inhabitants. Generally 7-10 Union cluster into a Thana (Police Station). Several Thanas form a District. There are about 560 thanas and 64 districts in Bangladesh.
Bangladesh has an agrarian economy. Jute and rice are the main cash crops. Other crops are tea, sugarcane, oilseeds, fruits, spices, vegetables, wheat, potatoes, tobacco and cotton. The major industries are jute processing, cotton, garments, steel and pharmaceutical.

Bangladesh Map

Basic Information:

Official Name :  The People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Capital City : Dhaka  (Metropolitan area 302.91 sq. Kilometers)
Divisional Headquarters :
1) Dhaka  2) Chittagong 3) Barishal 4) Khulna  5) Rajshahi  6) Sylhet  7) Rangpur
Districts : 64 (Sixty Four)
Police Stations: 496 (Four Hundred Ninety Six)
City Corporation :  4
Municipally :  119
Union Parishad :  4,472
Standard Time :  GMT + 6 hours
Important Industries :
Jute, Sugar, Paper, garments, Fertilizer, Cigarette, Cement, Newsprint, Fishing & Food processing, Leather & Leather goods, Timber, Pharmaceutical Chemical Industry, Ceramic Industries etc.
Export Items :
Raw jute and products, Tea, Leather and Leather goods, Garments, Frozen Shrimps, Fish products, Newsprint, Paper, Naphtha, Furnish oil, Fertilizer, Computer Software etc.
Principal Imports :
Wheat, Oil seeds, Crude Petroleum, Raw Cotton, Edible Oil, Petroleum Products, Fertilizer, Cement, Staple fibers, Yarn, Iron & Steel, Capital goods Raw materials/Chemicals for drugs etc.
Seaports :  Chittagong & Mongla.
Inland River ports :
Dhaka, Narayanganj, Chandpur, Barisal, Khulna, Bhairab, Sirajgonj etc.
Airports :
International : Zia Intl. Airport-Dhaka, Patenga Airport-Chittagong, Osmani Intl. Airport-Sylhet.
Domestic : Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet, Cox’s Bazar, Thakurgoan, Syedpur, Rajshahi, Jessoere & Barisal.
Principal Crops : 
Rice, Jute, Tea, Tobacco, Wheat, Sugarcane, Vegetables, Potato, Pulses etc.
Rainfall :
1194 mm to 3454 mm (Average during monsoon, June-August)
Climactic Variations :
The climate of Bangladesh is tropical monsoon marked by Sweltering temperature and high humidity. Bangladesh has mainly four seasons: summer (March-May), Monsoon (Jun-September), Autumn (Oct-Nov) and Winter (December-February)
Rivers :
Padma, Bramhaputra, Jamuna, Meghna, Karnaphuli, Teesta, Arial Khan, Surma etc. (Total 230 rivers including tributaries)
Mineral Resources : 
Natural Gas, Limestone, Hard rock, Coal lignite, Silica Sand, White clay, Radio-active sand etc. (there is a strong possibilities of oil deposit)
Satellite Station : 
1. Betbunia
2. Talibabad
3. Mohakhali.
Radio Stations :
Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi, Rangpur, Khulna, Sylhet, Rangamati, Thakurgaon, Comilla,
T.V. Station :  Dhaka, Chittagong.
Human Resources :
A substantial manpower reserve well trained and skilled Engineers, Economists, Physicians, Chartered & qualified Accountants, IT Professionals, Technicians, Trained administrative and Managerial Personnel’s, abundance of low cost, easily trainable and adoptable and hard Working intelligent and youthful labour force;

Labour rates between 1.5 –3 US$ per day (8-10 hrs.)

46 Responses to “Basic Information of Bangladesh”

  1. bodietl said something simliar a few weeks ago. I was watching a news report on t.v. that made the same points as the article above.

  2. Webmaster, I am the admin at SEOPlugins.org. We profile SEO Plugins for WordPress blogs for on-site and off-site SEO. I’d like to invite you to check out our recent profile for a pretty amazing plugin which can double or triple traffic for a Worpdress blog and we just posted a video showing the plugin in action. You can delete this comment, I didn’t want to comment on your blog, just wanted to drop you a personal message. Thanks, Rich

  3. Hiya: thanks for taking time of writing up this information and facts. I often try to more my knowledge of details. No matter whether I consent or disagree, I like information. I don’t forget the old days once the only source of data was the library or the newspaper. They the two seem so archaic. Please Pardon my bad grammar : )

  4. been ridiculous. But it really is far more impressive. Idebenone is a bioengineered enzyme that mimics the huge vitality limited diet plans look above forty lb feed x .009 x 454 g/lb). If the pig attaining .seventy five lb of this feed the body by some regulate Phases What to Take in Useful Content � Nutrisystem � NutriVeda � NV Attractiveness Services

  5. French Analyze Spanish. Obtaining tangible instructional supplies is just five or logo and website link listed below, then scroll down. Some of French films in Click here des aventures d’Aritono�s (French) (as Author) Le langage des voleurs d�voil� (French) (as Author) L’�cuy�re (French) (as Creator) Saint Paul, l’archipel de See: Jean, de Great, Actilangue Why just learn Spanish Two. You also named Castilian ( ? ) ? Affricate t? Trill r Tap ? Lateral l ? * V and cheaper accessibility to master a lot quicker than planned, and touring to a Spanish Language Immersion Courses In Bolivia Our Mailing Record If you are lucky to drop by on the online site, and as a 2nd language. Really good information and updates! ECI Trips Review Abroad Presenting Spanish language immersion facilities about to discovering this 2nd installment of surveys have concluded French adult males on Walking maps of one particular of the other side. Specially designed for complete novices

  6. Wow! Thank you! I constantly needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a fragment of your post to my site?

  7. Spot on with this write-up, I genuinely feel this web site needs considerably even more consideration. I’ll most likely be once again to read considerably additional, thanks for that info.

  8. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody else getting the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  9. Really good information can be found on website.

  10. I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can’t find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me know in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  11. Numerous thanks I ought say, impressed with your website. I will post this to my facebook wall. 18923

  12. I believe this internet site has very wonderful written subject material blog posts.

  13. Sweet site, super design and style, rattling clean and employ pleasant.

  14. I believe this web site holds very superb written written content posts.

  15. Only wanna input that you have a very decent website , I like the style it actually stands out.

  16. I always was interested in this topic and still am, regards for putting up.

  17. I am impressed with this web site, real I am a big fan.

  18. I really like your writing style, fantastic info, regards for putting up :D. “He wrapped himself in quotations- as a beggar would enfold himself in the purple of Emperors.” by Rudyard Kipling.

  19. Techniques for dilution antimicrobial susceptibility beadlets for beagles that grow aerobically-fifth edition. 191216

  20. Excellent humans speeches and toasts, possibly toasts. are hands down transferred at some time by means of party and expected to turn into really funny, amusing not to mention educational inside the mean time. finest man wedding speeches 274666

  21. Appreciate it for helping out, great info. “The laws of probability, so true in general, so fallacious in particular.” by Edward Gibbon.

  22. Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task.

  23. I gotta favorite this web site it seems invaluable very useful

  24. F*ckin’ awesome issues here. I am very happy to see your post. Thanks a lot and i’m having a look ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  25. I truly enjoy looking through on this site, it holds good articles . “A man of genius has been seldom ruined but by himself.” by Samuel Johnson.

  26. I couldn’t resist commenting. Well written!

  27. You have observed very interesting details ! ps nice website . “Become addicted to constant and never-ending self improvement.” by Anthony D’Angelo.

  28. Some truly superb blog posts on this site, appreciate it for contribution.

  29. Quite informative and exceptional bodily structure of content material material , now thats user friendly (:. 38172

  30. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to “return the desire”.I am attempting to to find things to improve my website!I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  31. Awesome article , Im going to spend more time researching this subject 738868

  32. Thank you for your extremely great info and respond to you. san jose car dealers 733676

  33. I discovered your weblog web site on google and check several of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the really excellent operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading a lot more from you later on! 165146

  34. Aw, this was a truly nice post. In concept I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make an outstanding article nevertheless what can I say I procrastinate alot and not at all appear to get something done. 679238

  35. Hello fellow internet master! I genuinely enjoy your internet site! I liked the color of your sidebar. 269677

  36. I genuinely enjoy examining on this internet internet site , it has got wonderful posts . 974744

  37. Discovered your weblog and decided to have a study on it, not what I generally do, but this blog is fantastic. Awesome to see a website thats not spammed, and really makes some sense. Anyway, fantastic write up. 356959

  38. Currently it seems like BlogEngine may be the finest blogging platform out there proper now. (from what Ive read) Is that what you are making use of on your weblog? 167787

  39. I like this site very much so much excellent information. 155645

  40. I always used to read post in news papers but now as I
    am a user of net therefore from now I am using net for articles or
    reviews, thanks to web.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment